The three stages of hair growth cycle

PHASE 1 – the Anagen (growing phase)

The Anagen phase is the growing phase. It typically lasts for an average of approximately 3 years in the human scalp.

During the Anagen phase a new hair begins when a group of cells at the base of the hair – the dermal papilla – multiply rapidly.

The hair shaft grows in diameter and the hair reaches maximum length. As new cells form, older cells move upwards and form the hair shaft. Keratin and other proteins form the hair itself.

PHASE 2 – the Catagen (transition phase)

Soon the cells at the base of the hair stop multiplying, resulting in the hair to stop growing before the resting phase begins.

This Catagen phase lasts about 2 to 3 weeks.

PHASE 3 – the Telogen (resting phase )

The Telogen is the final resting stage, which lasts for about five or six weeks in a healthy follicle.

Towards the end of the Telogen phase the hair follicle re-enters the growth phase.

A new hair in the Anagen phase develops and forces the old Telogen hair out.

Every day about 80-100 old hairs are shed before new hairs replace them.

At any one time around 90% of most people's hair follicles are in the Anagen, or growing, phase and approximately 10% are in the Telogen, or resting, phase.

Over time, the length of the anagen stage decreases.,therefore, the hair may become weaker and thinner after each cycle. 

That’s why at Hergroei we understand the importance of maintaining healthy hair, by using Rebalancing Hair Regrowth Serum, it will give hair and scalp the rich nutrients it needs.